hello

past exhibitions

Page 1 of 2 pages. Displaying 1-10 of 12 results.

Ngaranggal Muruda (Women\'s Footprints)
Ngaranggal Muruda (Women's Footprints)
Sat 11 January - Sun 9 February 2020

POSTPONED

Public Programs

Panel discussion - Sat 11 January, 11:00am
Vida Sobottka
Vida Sobottka
Remains to be seen
Sat 30 November 2019 - Sun 5 January 2020

Artist Vida Sobottka explores the idea of reliquaries in this exhibition. Traditionally about holy nuance and the use of relics in devotional practice, sainted body parts, objects and possessions were elevated beyond the mundane through the ornate containers created by the finest craftsmen of the age. These precious, lavishly decorated containers had a spiritual and symbolic value that legitimised and sanctified their contents to inspire personal and communal devotion.

Public Programs

Artist talk - Sat 30 November, 11:00am
ReVive Art Prize 2019
ReVive Art Prize 2019
Sat 2 November - Sun 24 November 2019

The ever popular biennial ReVive Art Prize returns to Eurobodalla in 2019 at the Basil Sellers Exhibition Centre. Open to all artists, crafts people and creative makers who reside in Eurobodalla, the Bega Valley or the Snowy Monaro Shires this exhibition showcases artworks made primarily from materials sourced from the waste stream. Combining innovation with education, finalist artists are eligible for a share of a $4000 prize pool.

Public Programs

Panel discussion - Sat 2 November, 11:00am
The Literary Salon
The Literary Salon
Sat 5 October - Sun 27 October 2019

The Literary Salon returns for its fourth year and first at the Bas. This popular event, launched in 2016, has gone from strength to strength and this year we are pushing the envelope further; including musicians for the first time. Writers will birth a creative text to be passed to either a visual artist or a musician for reinterpretation. The result? A mixed media extravaganza of visual and sound pieces.

Public Programs

First Salon - Fri 11 October, 6:00pm
Second Salon - Fri 18 October, 6:00pm
Third Salon - Fri 25 October, 6:00pm
Mark Ward + Mirabel FitzGerald
Mark Ward + Mirabel FitzGerald
Back to where we started
Sat 7 September - Sun 29 September 2019

A collaboration between work and life partners Mark Ward and Mirabel Fitzgerald, Back to where we started reflects five decades of work inspired by the south coast of NSW.

Public Programs

Artist talks - Sat 7 September, 11:00am
Anna Glynn
Anna Glynn
Promiscuous Provenance
Sat 10 August - Sun 1 September 2019

Promiscuous Provenance is a travelling exhibition from Shoalhaven Regional Gallery Nowra. This project has been assisted by the Australian Government’s Visions of Australia program.

Public Programs

Artist talks - Sat 10 August, 11:00am
Long table dinner - Sat 24 August, 7:00pm
Keedah Throssell and Lesley Whale
Keedah Throssell and Lesley Whale
Like Chalk and Cheese
Sat 13 July - Sun 4 August 2019

This exhibition is a celebration of difference. Keedah Throssell and Lesley Whale, two very dissimilar artists, have collaborated to produce this cage-rattling and quirky representation of the world. The artists share many common interests despite very different backgrounds and training – each with their own unique expression, approach and art practice, reflected in divergent subject choices. This rich tapestry of creative material is sure to provoke in each viewer a range of responses. Labels do not apply here. The show is unique in its unpredictability – the works are as different as chalk and cheese.

Public Programs

Artist talk - Sat 13 July, 11:00am
Lachie Hinton
Lachie Hinton
LIMBOLAND
Thu 13 June - Sun 7 July 2019

LIMBOLAND brings together the entirety of Lachie Hinton’s work on human displacement, refugees and migration. It catalogues his response to two significant events regarding immigration in recent times; the European refugee crisis in 2016 and Australia’s controversial offshore detention of refugees and asylum seekers on Nauru. While his documentary of these issues presents different experiences of lives upended by conflict and oppression, it shares an exploration of the underlying theme of living in limbo. His series of paintings, drawings, photographs and documentary filmmaking seek to humanise ordinary people who have become displaced as a result of war and terror.

Public Programs

Panel discussion - Sat 15 June, 11:00am
Share a meal, share a story - Sat 15 June, 12:30pm
River of Dreams
River of Dreams
Fri 10 May - Sun 9 June 2019

Join us for champagne and canapés at the Basil Sellers Exhibition Centre when Archibald winner Wendy Sharpe opens the River of Dreams exhibition – the official opening of the 2019 River of Art Festival – from 6-8pm on Friday 17 May. Opening night patrons will relish the musical accompaniment by 2019 Narooma Busking Festival champion, harpist Yasmine Russell.

Public Programs

Artist in conversation - Sat 18 May, 11:00am
Jennifer Hawkins
Jennifer Hawkins
We are made of star stuff
Sat 20 April - Sun 12 May 2019

Where do we come from? Where do we go?

Public Programs

Artist Talk - Sat 27 April, 11:00am
The Basil Sellers Exhibition Centre recognises Aboriginal people as the original inhabitants and custodians of all land and water in the Eurobodalla and respects their enduring cultural and spiritual connection to it. The Bas acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land in which we live and pays respect to Elders past, present and future.