Photo of crowd at the opening of Basil Sellers Exhibition Centre banner image

Basil Sellers Art Prize

The Basil Sellers Art Prize is a biennial competition celebrating and awarding artistic excellence and creative practice and offers a prize pool of over $30,000.

In 2022 the prize became a nationwide prize with a new direction for the latest evolution and an increased major prize of $25,000. The prize will champion 2D artworks in traditional medium and will call for entries from across Australia. The Eurobodalla award will continue to support local artists, ensuring their important place within the prize is safeguarded, while showcasing our local talent on a national stage.

Entries now closed

History of the prize

The Basil Sellers Art Prize was founded in 2004 by businessman, philanthropist and art collector Mr Basil Sellers AM. Through a chance connection to Moruya, Mr Sellers developed a long and fruitful partnership with the Shire that has supported Eurobodalla’s artistic community in a meaningful way.

In 2018 the biennial prize was opened to include artists from NSW and the ACT with the major prize increased to $20,000.

Until 2016, Basil Sellers AM was the sole contributor of the prize. From 2018, a new award sponsored by Eurobodalla Shire Council was introduced. The Eurobodalla Award of $5000 honours a local entry into the prize and the work acquired for the Council’s permanent collection.

2020 prize winners

Yates received $20,000 and his winning work was acquired by Mr Basil Sellers AM. Lawrence received $5,000 and won the opportunity for a solo exhibition in the Basil Sellers Exhbition Centre 2021 program. Thompson received $500 as the People's Choice winner voted by exhbition viewers.

The winners of the 2020 Basil Sellers Art Prize were announced in a special online broadcast.:

Past winners

BSAP past winners include some of the most outstanding artists from the region whose practices traverse a number of mediums.

  • 2020: Peter Matthew Yates - Connection
  • 2018: Anh Nguyen – Jamboree Mornings
  • 2016: Merryn Sommerville – Ghosts I’ve met
  • 2014: Susan Chancellor – The family lounge
  • 2012: Frances Luke – Mossy Point Headland 1
  • 2010: Stan Squires – Pambula river mouth
  • 2008: Kerry Johns – Lilli Pilli
  • 2006: Jennifer Hawkins – …and on that day they shall rise up…
  • 2004: Sue Christie – Life chaos and everything

More information

For assistance with accessibility or enquiries on entries please contact us.